Can a teacher create and manage student user groups?

Yes. Simply add each user. Manage the group by exporting or importing user data files. User data files can be stored anywhere (with .rluf extension) and opened in any Rhythm Lab app running on any iPad, as long as the app is v. 3.16 or later. The data files can be given any name you want, and will always have the .rluf extension.

Can user results and scores be shared with others?

Yes. For example, if a teacher would like to track a student’s results, the student can easily send a copy of scores and results via email or any other option available from the system sharing menu, which is accessed from the action button at the top right on the navigation bar of the user’s results screen. The user’s results screen is accessed by tapping the button displaying the user name on the main Tap screen’s navigation bar (top center-right).

How do I import user data?

There are two ways to import user data:

  • If a user data file has been exported and saved in an app that will accept files with the .rluf extension (.rluf is the extension for the custom user files that Rhythm Lab exports), you can use the “Open in . . .” option from that app’s file share/export interface to open the file in Rhythm Lab. Many apps allow you to store and export .rluf files, including DropBox, Box, Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, Mega, and iCloud Drive.
  • If the host app storing the .rluf user file recognizes Rhythm Lab’s ability to open the file, you can also open the file directly from Rhythm Lab’s opening User screen by tapping the “Manage Users / Import Users” option. Some newer versions of storage apps as of iOS 11 may not allow you to import the .rluf file directly from Rhythm Lab’s screen, although you can still open the file in Rhythm Lab from within the other application itself. OneDrive, Google Drive, and Mega allow user imports from within Rhythm Lab’s user screen; DropBox, Box, and iCloud Drive do not.

If any user names in the imported group already exist in the current Rhythm Lab instance,  you will be given the option to skip or rename the imported user rather than over-writing the current user’s data.

Can I copy users’  data to a different iPad?

Once users’ data have been exported, the saved file can be opened in any other installation of Rhythm Lab on any other iPad, as long as the installed version of Rhythm Lab is recent enough to allow user import and export (v. 3.1.6 or later).

How do I save users’ data?

You save users and their data by selecting the “Manage Users” button on the opening screen. If you are on a different screen, you can navigate back to the User screen by tapping on the “Tap” icon on the far left of the bottom tab bar. If the Tap screen is already showing an exercise, then tap the “User” navigation item on the top left navigation bar.

To save the users group, select “Export Users” after tapping the “Manage Users” button.  Enter a name for the file and tap done. You will be presented with a system view with all of the options available on your iPad for sharing or saving the users file (email, Files app, DropBox, etc.). Follow the usual procedure for saving or sharing using any of those options.

How do I delete a user?

You delete a user by selecting the “Manage Users” button on the opening screen. If you are on a different screen, you can navigate back to the User screen by tapping on the “Tap” icon on the far left of the bottom tab bar. If the Tap screen is already showing an exercise, then tap the “User” navigation item on the top left navigation bar.

After tapping the “Manage Users” button, tap “Delete User” and tap the name to delete. You will then be asked to confirm the delete, or you can cancel the delete operation.

How do I add a user?

You add a user by selecting the “Manage Users” button on the opening screen. If you are on a different screen, you can navigate back to the User screen by tapping on the “Tap” icon on the far left of the bottom tab bar. If the Tap screen is already showing an exercise, then tap the “User” navigation item on the top left navigation bar.

After tapping the “Manage Users” button, tap “Add New User” and type in a user name. To save the user name, tap the “Done” button. No other information is required for the user.